The unit is staffed with 4 records specialists. A Support Services Lieutenant also provides assistance.
Fingerprinting is provided for all applicants for jobs, permits or licensing, except immigration and naturalization requests. Those services are provided at federal agencies in Seattle. Fingerprinting service is available during the hours of 8 AM - 12 PM and 2 PM - 4 PM.
Copies of traffic reports are provided if your name appears on the report (witness, victim, or owner) or upon verification that you are the registered legal owner of the vehicle or vehicles involved.
Copies of incident reports are provided upon completion of the public disclosure request forms. This includes witnesses, victims or suspects. The public disclosure request for information requires an interim response with in 5 days. The appropriate Revised Code of Washington (RCW) will be cited when requests are denied.
Background checks are provided for clearance or employment requests from any citizen, any level of government or agency, and commercial or private business. Requests must include both the correct date of birth and complete name (no exceptions). Local records management systems are used to check and verify requests.
Fix-it tickets are cleared at the walk up front counter when law enforcement staff is available.
Property pickup is available only after release requests are properly processed through the Crime Scenes and property staff. Property staff set the appointment pick up times only for Monday, Wednesday or Friday. Proper picture identification is required to receipt for the property.
Concealed pistol licenses may be obtained after completing an application, processing a background check and fingerprinting.
Public Disclosure Information, Procedures & Form
Public Disclosure and the release of information are processed according to the Revised Code of Washington (RCW). A Public Disclosure Request form(PDF) is provided online for your convenience. Return the completed form to the Records Unit.
Incident Reports: No charge for 1st 50 pages, $0.15 per page after
State Forms: No charge
Supplemental Sheets: No charge for 1st 50 pages, $0.15 per page after
Criminal History Check: $10
First Card: $10
Each Additional Card: $10
Photo Prints: (Per set when in possession of the department): Actual cost of processing
Service Fee for Anti-Harassment Order: $50
Gun Permit at Time of Fingerprints (The RCW sets the gun permit fees): $48.00