Audit Committee

The City of Bremerton’s Audit Committee has extended its application deadline for a volunteer CPA position. Please visit to submit an application by 5:00 PM on Friday, October 30.  

The appointment is subject to Council confirmation.  The term will be from January 1, 2021 through December 31, 2023.

The City Charter requires that the Audit Committee include two (2) Council Members, an independent Certified Public Accountant (CPA), and two (2) residents.   

Responsibilities of an Audit Committee Member include:    

  • Review and approval of the internal audit work schedule and planned budget for the coming year
  • Review results of external and internal audits, prior to release of internal audit reports, with specific attention to restrictions, cooperation received, audit findings, and recommendations
  • Review and approve appropriate special audit requests
  • Review and recommend revisions to policies relating to unethical and illegal procedures
  • Ensure the City Auditor’s independence of management
  • Meet regularly with the City Auditor  
  • Help to assure that management is exercising due professional care
  • Annual appraisals of the City Auditor’s performance as to effectiveness and efficiency, including a comparison of planned and actual audits

“Internal Auditing is an independent, objective assurance and consulting activity designed to add value and improve an organization’s operations. It helps an organization accomplish its objectives by bringing a systematic disciplined approach to evaluate and improve the effectiveness of risk management, control, and governance processes” as defined by the Institute of Internal Auditors.   


City Council Members

  • Leslie Daugs, Chair
  • Mike Simpson

Independent Certified Public Accountant (CPA)

  • Dennis Treger, CPA

Citizen Members

  • Deborah McDaniel, Vice-Chair
  • Darryl Riley
The City Charter (PDF) identifies an Audit Committee comprised of two Bremerton residents, an independent Certified Public Accountant (CPA), and two City Council members. The Bremerton Municipal Code allows the City Council to designate one additional member as an alternate, who serves in the absence of one or both of the appointed council members. The CPA is approved by the City Council. Each January, the Audit Committee selects one member as chairman and one as vice-chairman. The two citizen members are appointed by the Audit Committee. The Audit Committee appoints the City Auditor. To learn more about the City Auditor, visit the City Auditor's page.